Up & Away

November 6, 2011 § 2 Comments

I am still officially NOT posting because I am, a-hem, writing a coupl’a (attempting three actually) kids books. Weeeeeellll. Kinda. I am trying. But it’s harder than I thought. I am kicking around some decent drafts, but as every writer knows, it’s all about the revisions, and the occasional start over from scratch page one re-write. I have had a lot of those. They’re painful, but necessary. The Sleepover Pirate (kmongiello.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/the-sleepover-pirate) is coming to my house tonight to bring some treats to Ri and Gar-Gar, and aside from his words of wisdom for the boys, I’m hoping he has some notes for me. I need ‘em.

But just to keep What do I know? in the mix. Kinda. I have an itty-bitty post for tonight. It will scare the pants off of some of the mammas I know out there, but to just as many it will make you chuckle. It made me chuckle.

Even though I was screaming inside.

Kirky has many talents, and one of the gems that he keeps in his back pocket, just for a day like today, is that he can toss the s*#t out of our babies! He never asked if he could do it. He just did it. And if he had asked I would have said, “NO!” But he didn’t ask. He just threw them straight into the sky on a regular, call it Tuesday, a while back, and those babies shrieked with utter delight. So he did it again. And again. And everyone who knows me knows I am not petite, and I hate nothing more than when people even try to pick me up. I’m 5 ’10. Seriously, you’re going to toss me around, or sling me over your shoulder? And my dear sweet Zelly-pants is showing signs of being cut from the same cloth – not a hugger, and not a “pick me up” kinda gal -so although she may never make 5’10,  I’m figuring, on the off-chance she doesn’t stay short and stout, and should get it while she can. And georgie-pie, well that little nugget was built for air.

If I can’t join ‘em, I can at least document these test flights. I do have a new fancy “cam-er-mam-mer-a” (as Zel calls it). So today, while kicking it at our ol’ faithful Hotkiss Park, I snapped away while Kirky chucked our babies right into the most beautiful Santa Monica fall blue sky.

Here’s what I know… I should warn you.  They flew high. Maybe even higher than it looks? So some of you ninny-ish moms may want to stop reading now. Or just brace yourself, and know no one got hurt. And they LOVED every second of it.

He caught 'em. Every time.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Up & Away

  • decker says:

    i’m envisioning baby “leisure dives”. they’re ready!

  • paula zipfel says:

    The soaring Zipfelinies pictures capture freedom from gravity and sheer joy. How wonderful to have Kirk for a father!
    As a youngster Kirk would spend long times just jumping straight up thru the water of the backyard swimming pool and down-again and again…till his father yelled ( after watching for about 1/2 hour) ” Why dont you swim, you idoit !”
    Parenting styles are certainly an individual thing.
    xo from the Peacemaker Paula

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Up & Away at What do I know?.

meta

