Pumpkin-ninny

October 31, 2011 § 2 Comments


I am officially “off the blog” until I get 3, yes, 3 first drafts of my 3, yes, 3 kid’s books done. I have one locked and loaded (Cup of Three), and I’m wrestling with the other two. They are bears, and really making me prove myself. To myself.  I needed to take What do I know? off the table as an excuse (one of many) for why I don’t have time to write these books. And so I have. And I am scribbling away between the nastiest never-ending kid germs, a new job, and full on house hunt. I am determined to write these books, get my family cured from this nagging virus, nail my new job and land us all in a new house. By Easter. But I also happen to be baking away. It is the tip of the season. And from here on out the Kitchen-Aid mixer will be parallel parked on my countertop ’till we ring in 2012.

So who says I can’t take 10 minutes to share with all you all an amazing, healthy and delightful (Gluten-free) recipe for Pumpkin Bread? Certainly not my editor, ‘cause he/she does not exist…yet.

12 years ago I discovered I had a wheat allergy, 7 years ago I found out Ri does too, and just last week my suspicions were confirmed when we found out sweet lil’ georgie-pie is the newest member of the club. Yep, he’s wheat intolerant as well. So, according to my count, I have at least 3 good reasons to get creative with my baking, and find some recipes that keep this crew healthy, happy and rubbing their bellies.

This is my over time, trial & error, pinch-of-this &  dash-of-that adaptation of my mom’s never fail Pumpkin Bread recipe. Her version is full of wheat, chock full of sugar, and totally delicious. My version lacks the some of the usual suspects, but is made with  L O V E. And damn good.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Bread

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 cup (white) sugar

1 cup (brown) sugar

1 Tablespoon Agave nectar

1/2 cup Canola oil

1/2 cup coconut oil (liquified – warm for 15 seconds in microwave on stove top)

2 eggs + 1 egg white

1 1/2 tsp. sea salt

Mix together

Add these ingredients one at a time

2 tsp baking soda

1 cup (gluten-free) oat flour

1 cup rice flour

1 cup all-purpose (gluten-free) baking flour

1 1/2 cup pumpkin puree

2/3 cup water

Mix again.

Pour into greased (I use coconut oil) and floured (rice flour is best) bread pans, cupcake tins or coffee cans (makes fun round-y slices) and bake at 350 f for 1 hr.

sprinkled with powdered sugar

adorable cupcake foils from Ikea

next post is a 10 minute ditty 'bout Kale Chips! BIg hit here at the MEZ house.

Here’s what I know…anything made with L O V E  is delicious!

Even these treats!

walking despite his wheat allergy

poster child for wheat free & proud

i can eat ANYTHING! nee-ner!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Pumpkin-ninny

  • Heather says:

    I love how I just told you this morning that I haven’t set a goal in a full year, and then you just listed all these things you’re going to do before Easter. I am continually amazed at the things you are able to accomplish.

  • kmongiello says:

    And your new goal is also my new goal…see you on our walk tomorrow. And by the way, when I was pregnant I did not set even one tiny goal. You get a pass, sister!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin-ninny at What do I know?.

meta

